Radio Today Johannesburg


Radio Today – the community radio station that delivers

RADIO TODAY 1485 AM in Johannsburg & nationally on DStv AUDIO CHANNEL 869.
Streamed on the worldwide web on – and


Formed in 1996, Radio Today is a community radio station, which broadcasts, in English to the 50+ listeners in the greater Johannesburg area.

Radio Today broadcasts from its studios in Parktown North, situated in the beautiful surrounds of the GardenShop, and is a Section 21 company whose beneficiaries are JAFTA, CHOC (Childhood Cancer Foundation), Theatre Benevolent Fund, The Smile Foundation and The Salvation Army.

We reach probably the most commercially viable niche market in the country. Our listeners are people at their peak,  majority of them commanding highly influential positions in society. Many are directors of JSE listed companies, business leaders in Gauteng and social revolutionaries who decided to “make a difference”. They are in fact a remarkable assembly consisting of a valuable and unique marketing niche.

The listenership lies almost solely in the A and B income groups (LSM 7-10).

Our 1485AM signal footprint extends from Alberton in the south to Midrand in the north, Randfontein in the West and Benoni in the East. We also broadcast nationally on DStv Audio Channel 869. Radio Today also streams on the worldwide web via its website –

The emphasis is on upbeat intelligent chat accompanied by music which awakens happy memories:

Radio Today’s most valuable assets is most probably its Radio Academy which is a very committed social initiative designed to pass on gratis, all aspects of radio and broadcasting to previously disadvantaged individuals, mentoring and training candidates and preparing them for a career in the business of sound. Unashamedly providing a feeder to the broadcasting industry.

Presenters include: Abueng Junior, Anton Coy, Alan Maker, Alyn Adams, Bronwen Hirschwitz, Bruce Dennill, Carolyn Steyn, Casper, Chris Prior, David Batzofin, Edward Chamberlain-Bell, Errol Ballantine, Henni Erasmus, Jonathan Taylor, Joy Gracious, Lance James, Liz King, Melanie Walker, Michael de Pinna, Mike Rickhoff, Nana Stapelberg, Natalie Chapman, Natashia Bearam, Nicole de Gruchy, Patrick Bracher, Roger McCleery, Success Virtue, Sue Grant-Marshall and Tim Neary.